• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Career Opportunities and Alumni

«A mathematician would do it better»
— Hugo Steinhaus

What are the career opportunities for someone with a degree in mathematics?

The most obvious positions would be as a researcher mathematician and lecturer, who proves new theorems and teaches mathematics to university or school students. This is an attractive path. For example, the professions of Mathematician and University Professor take the first two positions in the Jobs Rated international ranking, and Forbes magazine wrote: ‘...this year science and math are king on the job market’.

A typical pure mathematician’s career starts with doctoral studies and obtaining a PhD in Mathematics (2-5 years), and continues with post-doc positions (2-7 years), followed by a position at a university or research institution. Our first MSc students graduated in 2014, so our first graduates are at the very beginning of this path. That said, we already have grounds to be proud of them, since about a quarter of our graduates enter PhD programmes at the world’s best mathematics departments, such as Harvard, Caltech, Columbia, MIT, Princeton, Yale, and ETH Zurich. Let’s hear from the graduates themselves:

But, globally, not many mathematics graduates choose this path. Most go on to knowledge-intensive industries where they earn on average more than their classmates who stayed within the comfortable confines of academia.

What are the competitive advantages for someone with a degree in mathematics, beyond pure mathematics?

  • The fastest-developing and most-in-demand sciences and applications of this knowledge are either already replete with mathematical methods (economics and finance, computer science and IT), or are rapidly becoming saturated with them (linguistics, medicine, sociology etc). For example, economics was obviously part of the humanities a century ago, and today, almost half the Nobel Prize winners in economics have degrees in physics or mathematics. And this process is expanding into more and more areas, which increases the need for experts with mathematical skills everywhere.
  • There is a job market signaling philosophy (incidentally created by one of the Nobel Prize winners in economics with a degree in mathematics), which can be simplified as follows. A university degree signals to the employer not only about a graduate’s specific knowledge, but also that they have sufficient motivation, skills, and effort to study such complicated issues for four years. From this perspective, a degree in mathematics is an exceptionally effective signal to the employer: as Alexander Alexandrov said, ‘Mathematics is useful because it’s difficult’. That’s why mathematicians are often hired for abstract, creative, or non-standard work, even if it doesn’t include any obvious mathematical component.
  • Finally, the most important thing: mathematicians are able to solve new and complex problems. Most people become stressed and confused when they face a problem that they cannot solve. Mathematics graduates are a rare exception to this rule. Their research experience means that intellectual uncertainty is, for them, a normal working environment, and they are accustomed to having first to formulate the problem and then develop approaches to its solution.

That’s why mathematicians have been civilization’s ‘intellectual commando unit’ for over three centuries: they are at the forefront of most breakthroughs in science and applications, they develop new areas and organize the expert training process.

What areas, besides pure mathematics, have a demand for specialists with a mathematics degree?

It wouldn’t be an exaggeration to say that, for a mathematics graduate, the global labor market is so expansive that it includes the full range of intellectual work. These related specializations give some idea of potential career opportunities:

Our students also have the opportunity to study all these fields, since during the senior years of their undergraduate studies and on Master’s programmes, they have the options of taking subjects taught by any HSE department, can attend the Yandex School of Data Analysis, choose a minor, and attend summer schools with Faculty support.

Where do Faculty of Mathematics graduates continue their studies?

Most of our graduates prefer continuing their studies rather than entering the jobs market. Here are some examples of the areas of their postgraduate studies:

  • Mathematics
  • Mathematical physics
  • Theoretical economics
  • Applied mathematics
  • Applied economics
  • Computational linguistics
  • Data science
  • Statistical and mathematical methods of analysis and forecasting in economics

 

Universities that Faculty graduates choose for postgraduate studies include:

  • Higher School of Economics
  • Harvard University
  • Caltech
  • Columbia University
  • Leiden University
  • MIT
  • University of Michigan
  • Pennsylvania State University
  • Princeton University
  • New Economic School
  • Northeastern University
  • Northwestern University
  • University of Geneva
  • Indiana Universityemploy
  • University of Maryland
  • McGill University
  • University of Nice Sophia Antipolis
  • University of Paris Sud
  • Toronto University
  • Stony Brook
  • Yale University
  • ETH Zurich
  • Stanford

Where do Faculty of Mathematics graduates work?

Our faculty may be relatively young, but our first graduates who have sought careers outside academia have established themselves in insurance, analysis, IT and other knowledge-intensive areas in both Russian and international companies. They are also in demand in mathematical education – in international universities (MIT, University of Maryland), and at Moscow’s best schools (No 2, No 57, and No 179), as well as at HSE, where one of our graduates has received the Best Teacher award for the third year in a row.

Careers in business, economics and finance include:

  • Actuary, Zurich
  • Senior marketing analyst, Coca Cola Hellenic
  • Head of corporate business department, Mezhtrustbank
  • Senior analyst at broadband access and IPTV department, VimpelCom
  • Senior expert at economic planning department, Bank of Moscow
  • Auditor, KPMG
  • Analyst, Axes Management
  • Analyst, AT Consulting
  • Business analyst, Leto Bank
  • Leading business process expert at credit operations support department, Central Bank of Russia

Careers in IT:

  • System architect, PayOnline
  • Programmer, Delta Solutions
  • Penetration tester, Insecurity
  • Developer, Yandex
  • Senior developer, TKS Bank
  • Programmer, RadiumOne

Academic careers:

  • Lecturers at the other HSE faculties
  • Mathematics teachers at Moscow schools No 2, No 57, and No 179
  • Postdocs at MIT, University of Chicago, Cornell University, Ecole polytechnique, Max Planck Institute for Mathematics

Useful links for graduates

Photos of past years’ graduates

HSE Alumni Association (including Facebook, LinkedIn , Vkontakte, Twitter)

HSE.Family (internal social network for HSE graduates, in Russian)

FAQ for graduates (in Russian)

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта
Контакты

Адрес: 119048, Москва,
ул. Усачёва, 6

тел. (495) 916-89-05
тел. (495) 772-95-90 *12720
тел. (495) 772-95-90 *12726 (декан)
E-mail: math@hse.ru

Учебный офис:
mathstudyoffice@hse.ru
тел. (495) 624-26-16
тел. (495) 772-95-90 *12712

Руководство
Заместитель декана по учебной работе Артамкин Игорь Вадимович
Заместитель декана Кузнецова Вера Витальевна
Заместитель декана по науке Фейгин Евгений Борисович

Выпускники и карьерные перспективы

«Математик сделает это лучше»
— Г. Штейнгауз

Каковы карьерные перспективы дипломированного математика?

Самая очевидная его роль — математик-исследователь и преподаватель, доказывающий новые теоремы и обучающий математике студентов или школьников. Этот ответ весьма привлекателен: например, в ведущем мировом рейтинге Jobs Rated профессии «Математик» и «Профессор университета» занимают первые две строки, а журнал Forbes пишет: «...this year science and math are king on the job market

Типичная карьера чистого математика начинается с поступления в аспирантуру, защиты диссертации кандидата физико-математических наук в России или PhD in Mathematics за рубежом (2-5 лет), работы на позициях постдокторского уровня (2-7 лет), и затем получения позиции в университете или исследовательском институте. Первый выпуск нашей магистратуры состоялся в 2014г, поэтому наши выпускники находятся пока в самом начале этого пути. Тем не менее, мы можем уже гордиться ими: около четверти наших выпускников поступает в аспирантуры лучших математических факультетов мира, таких как Harvard, Caltech, Columbia, MIT, Princeton, Yale, ETH Zurich. Дадим слово самим выпускникам:

Однако эту дорогу во всем мире выбирает меньшинство выпускников математических факультетов. Большинство идет в наукоемкие приложения и зарабатывает там в среднем больше, чем их однокурсники, оставшиеся работать в комфортном академическом климате.

Каковы конкурентные преимущества дипломированного математика вне чистой математики?

  • Наиболее развиваемые и востребованные науки и приложения либо насыщены математическими методами (экономика и финансы, компьютерные науки и IT), либо стремительно ими насыщаются (лингвистика, медицина, социология,..). Например, экономика сто лет назад была очевидно гуманитарной наукой, а теперь почти половина нобелевских лауреатов по экономике имеют бакалаврский диплом физико-математической направленности. И сейчас этот процесс математизации затрагивает все новые области, постоянно увеличивая повсюду потребность в специалистах с математической квалификацией.
  • Принятую сейчас философию job market signaling (созданную, кстати, одним из вышеупомянутых нобелевских лауреатов по экономике с математическим образованием), можно, бесконечно упрощая, сформулировать так. Диплом ВУЗа сигнализирует работодателю не столько о конкретных знаниях, полученных выпускником, сколько о том, что у выпускника хватило мотивации, способностей и трудолюбия четыре года эффективно разбираться в неких трудных вопросах. При таком взгляде на вещи диплом математика является исключительно эффектным сигналом работодателю — «Математика полезна тем, что она трудна» (А.Д.Александров). Именно поэтому для абстрактной, креативной и нестандартной работы, пусть даже без явной математической составляющей, работодатели так часто нанимают дипломированного математика.
  • Наконец, самое главное: математики умеют решать новые сложные задачи. Дело в том, что у большинства людей столкновение с проблемой, для которой неизвестен алгоритм решения, вызывает стресс и растерянность. Редкое исключение из этого правила — выпускники математических факультетов. Опыт научных исследований делает для них нормальной рабочей обстановкой ситуацию интеллектуальной неопределенности, в которой нужно самостоятельно сформулировать стоящую задачу и изобрести пути ее решения.

Именно поэтому уже более трех веков носители математической культуры играют роль «интеллектуального десанта» цивилизации, оказываясь на переднем крае большинства прорывов в науках и приложениях, с тем чтобы развить новую область и наладить в ней процесс обучения узких специалистов.

В каких областях, кроме чистой математики, востребованы дипломированные математики?

Без преувеличения можно сказать, что рынок труда, на который выходит выпускник математического факультета — это весь мировой рынок интеллектуального труда. Получить о нем представление можно на страницах смежных специальностей:

И со всеми этими областями наши студенты имеют возможность познакомиться за время обучения: ведь на старших курсах и в магистратуре можно включать в индивидуальный учебный план предметы любых факультетов НИУ ВШЭ, посещать курсы ШАД Яндекс, выбирать майнор (вторую специальность) и посещать летние школы при финансовой поддержке факультета. Слово студентам и выпускникам:

Где продолжают обучение выпускники факультета математики?

Большинство наших выпускников предпочитает второе образование работе. Примеры специальностей, на которых они продолжают обучение:

  • Математика
  • Математическая физика
  • Теоретическая экономика
  • Прикладная математика
  • Прикладная экономика
  • Компьютерная лингвистика
  • Наука о данных
  • Статистические и математические методы анализа и прогнозирования экономики

 

Среди университетов, в аспирантуры которых поступают выпускники Факультета:

  • Высшая школа экономики
  • Harvard University
  • Caltech
  • Columbia University
  • Leiden University
  • MIT
  • University of Michigan
  • Pennsylvania State University
  • Princeton University
  • Российская экономическая школа
  • Northeastern University
  • Northwestern University
  • University of Geneva
  • Indiana Universityemploy
  • University of Maryland
  • McGill University
  • University of Nice Sophia Antipolis
  • Университет Paris Sud
  • Toronto University
  • Stony Brook
  • Yale University
  • ETH Zurich
  • Stanford

Где работают выпускники факультета математики?

Несмотря на молодость нашего факультета, наши «первые ласточки» вне академических стен уже трудятся в сферах страхования, аналитики, IT и других наукоемких направлениях в зарубежных и российских компаниях. Разумеется, они повсюду востребованы в математическом образовании — и в ведущих университетах (таких как MIT и университет Мэрилэнда), и в лучших московских школах (№ 2, № 57 и № 179), и в самом НИУ ВШЭ, где одна из наших выпускниц получает звание Лучшего преподавателя уже третий год подряд. Примеры мест работы:

Карьера в области бизнеса, экономики и финансов:

  • Актуарий, Zurich
  • Старший аналитик по маркетингу, Coca Cola Hellenic
  • Руководитель управлением корпоративного бизнеса, ООО «КБ «МЕЖТРАСТБАНК»
  • Старший аналитик в отделе планирования и прогнозирования услуг ШПД и IPTV, «Вымпелком»
  • Главный специалист планово-экономического департамента, Банк Москвы
  • Аудитор, KPMG
  • Аналитик, Axes Management
  • Аналитик, AT Consulting
  • Бизнес аналитик, Банк «Лето»
  • Ведущий эксперт бизнес процессов отдела сопровождения кредитных операций, ЦБ РФ

Карьера в сфере IT:

  • Системный архитектор, «PayOnline»
  • Техник-програмист, «Delta Solutions»
  • Penetration tester, «Инсекьюрити»
  • Разработчик, «Яндекс»
  • Старший разработчик, «ТКС банк»
  • Инженер-программист, «RadiumOne»

Академическая карьера:

  • Преподаватели других факультетов НИУ ВШЭ
  • Учителя математических классов в школах ГБОУ ЦО №57, Государственный лицей «Вторая школа», ГОУ СОШ 179 МИОО.
  • Сотрудники MIT, University of Chicago, Cornell University, Ecole polytechnique, Max Planck Institute for Mathematics.